DESKTOP AUTHOR
Get DNL Reader
LATEST DESKTOP AUTHOR VERSION: 7.1.5
Media Resources
Resellers
FAQ
User Manual
Contact Us
 

DeskTop Author is an ebook or electronic publishing software that allows you to quickly, easily and professionally create & sell electronic publications such as eBooks, eCatalogs, ePresentations, photo albums and much more.
TRY DESKTOP AUTHOR FREE
A DNAML PRODUCT
 
Click here to launch an introduction to Desktop Author features
 
HOME
DOWNLOAD
BUY NOW
TUTORIALS
TEMPLATES
FORUMS
UPGRADE
SAMPLES
DNL DRM
  FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS (FAQ)
Editable text and images
 
There is an editable text tutorial here.

To make editable text/images work there are some buttons that you must have.

You can name these buttons anyway that you like but the meanings and associated links are the same.

These buttons need to be in the final book for editable\text and images to work properly.

1. Edit Mode button linked to Editbook_Edit: This puts the book into edit mode for the current page. Normally a book cannot be changed unless it is in Edit mode. In this mode, the page turns are disabled and the editable text/images box will become active. To return to normal again, you must use the Preview

2. Preview Mode (or Normal non-edit mode) linked to Editbook_View: This returns the book to normal view mode so page turns and others things will work. The edits are displayed but no changes are saved yet.

3. Save Book linked to EditBook_Save: this will save all the edit changes you just made.

4. Lock Book linked to EditBook_BookLock: This button is optional and does not need be in your book. This will lock all the editable text/images so the book cannot be edited again after you save it.

Please note: if you use publish-to-web and then goto the webpage with the book inside and edit it. And then save it, the changes are not updated on the website's version of the book, only in the book that you have downloaded. This means that you must save the edited book (from the webpage) to your PC then send or email that saved book to someone else if you want them to see the changes.
 
Click here to return to FAQ contents FAQ